The Rosalind Franklin Society is an honorific, interdisciplinary, and international society which recognizes, fosters, and advances the important contributions of women in the life sciences and affiliated disciplines. In so doing, the Society honors the under-recognized achievements of the late Rosalind Franklin (1920-1958), a British x-ray crystallographer whose work producing x-ray images of DNA was crucial in the discovery of its structure by James Watson and Francis Crick. Franklin symbolizes progress for women in science but her accomplishments were not recognized during her lifetime, awarded posthumously, nor are they completely acknowledged today. To celebrate the life, work, and symbolic power of this remarkable heroine in science, the Society recognizes the work of outstanding women scientists, fosters greater opportunities for women in the sciences, and motivates and educates by examples young generations of women who have this calling.

The Rosalind Franklin Society is a nonprofit tax-exempt 501(c)(3)



The Rosalind Franklin Society is the proud sponsor of the Rosalind Franklin Award  presented by The Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) to an outstanding woman in the industrial biotechnology sector. Past recipients of the Award are:

2016 - Anna Rath, JD, MS, President and CEO of NexSteppe

2015 - Jennifer Holmgren, PhD, MBA, CEO of LanzaTech

2014 - Debbie Yaver, PhD, Director of Expression Technology, Genomics and Bioformatics at Novoymes




Latest News

Our December 2016 issue of RFS Briefings has some timly and encouraging updates on women on ... Read More

Read More