Day 1
December 16, 2020

1:00 - 1:15pm           Opening Remarks

Rita Colwell, PhD
President, Rosalind Franklin Society

Mary Ann Liebert
Founder, Rosalind Franklin Society

1:15 - 2:00pm

COVID-19 Research: News from the Front 
Angela Rasmussen, PhD
Georgetown Center for Global Health Science and Security 

Akiko Iwasaki, PhD
Immunologist, Yale University 

2:00 - 3:00pm

Best of Both Worlds: Corporate Leadership meets Corporate Responsibility
Cassandra Wesselman, MBA
Head of Clinical Solutions & Patient Empowerment
OnRamp Bioinformatics Inc.

Nicole Boice, MBA
Co-Founder, Executive Director

Yelena Wetherill, PhD
Director, Alliance Management, Business Development & Licensing 

Susan Tousi, MBA
SVP, Chief Product Officer
Illumina, Inc. 

 3:00 - 4:00pm

From PhD to CEO
Molly He, PhD 
CEO and Co Founder
Element Bioscience

Kaja Wasik, PhD 
Co-Founder & Chief Science Officer
Variant Bio

Alice Zhang, PhD 
CEO & Co-Founder, Verge Genomics

4:00 - 5:00pm

Awards: Window or Just Window Dressing?
Alexis Komor, PhD
Genome Writers Guild, Rosalind Franklin Medal
University of California, San Diego

Emily Leproust, PhD
BIO, Rosalind Franklin Award
Twist Bio

Ruth Lehmann, PhD
Vilcek Prize
Whitehead Institute at MIT

Silvi Rouskin, PhD
Vilcek Prize 
Whitehead Institute, MIT

Aviv Regev, PhD
FNIH, Lurie Prize 
Genentech EVP

   Day 2
December 17, 2020
1:00 - 1:15pm Welcome/Recap 

1:15 - 2:00pm

A Worldwide Issue
Dame Jocelyn, Bell Burnell, PhD
Astrophysicist, Breakthrough Prize

Tony Hyman, PhD
(Suzanne Eaton, PhD in memoriam)
Director, Hyman Lab
Max Planck Institute

2:00 - 2:30pm

The Importance of Leadership in Creating Diverse, Inclusive, and Respectful Environments
Paula Johnson, MD, MPH 
Wellesley College

Ashley Bear, PhD 
Senior Program Officer
National Academies

2:30 - 3:00pm

Pipeline/Mentoring: Our Future
Bianca Jones Marlin, PhD
Columbia University’s, Zuckerman Institute 

Johnna Frierson, PhD
Asst. Dean for Graduate & Postdoctoral Diversity and Inclusion 
Duke University


How and When to Add Voices
Alexis Stutzman 
Black in Genetics

Raven Baxter 
Founder, STEMbassy
Raven the Science Maven

Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD
President & CEO


The Potential of Innovation, Entrepreneurs, and Partnerships
Rodney Priestley, PhD
Vice Dean for Innovation 
Princeton University

4:30 - 4:45

Yes, Her Legacy Lives
Rosalind FranklinNiece

Wendy Rheault, PhD, 
President & CEO 
Rosalind Franklin University

4:45 - 5:00

Closing Remarks
Rita Colwell, PhD 
Mary Ann Liebert